Playing table tennis with my older daughter, she set up a soft short lob with such vicious backspin that I couldn’t reach it as it bounced back across the net and landed on her side. She then didn’t return it. Whose point was it?

ITTF 2.07.01 says “The ball, having been served or returned, shall be struck so that it touches the opponent’s court, either directly or after touching the net assembly.” Furthermore, struck is defined as touching the racket or the racket hand below the wrist. Since I didn’t touch the ball, the fact that it landed back on her side of the net doesn’t seem to count as a return, so presumably it’s her point.

Any table tennis players know more clearly?

Gordon Storey March 29, 2015 17:29

Not an expert but I would agree that it is her point and your logic is correct.

Michael K Johnson March 29, 2015 19:24

It turned out to matter. We were playing to 21, and due to that point early in the game she won 22-20 after we tied at 20 points. ☺

Joseph S Tate March 30, 2015 17:36

At the end of this video, the scorekeeper goes to flip the lobber’s score: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Michael K Johnson March 30, 2015 19:02

+Joseph Tate thank you! That’s great. Though our ceilings in the basement aren’t quite that high… ;-)

Michael K Johnson August 31, 2015 20:42

She did it again. And won 21-19.

Imported from Google+ — content and formatting may not be reliable